Light – Motion: Freeze & Blurr

I learned a lot from this project and I was grateful to learn how to use the shutter priority or TV mode. It taught me how much power the photographer really has. Preparation and practice played the biggest role in these pictures. To follow the pattern: prep, camera, and post. In each photo, I will explain more about how it was taken and why I feel like it worked.

MOTION


Colorful Torment: 4/30/16, 1:00pm, Brighton Apartments, FL 35mm, f/4.5, 1/800 sec, Camera: Natural Lighting

WindSpencer - PaintMotion
This photo took the most effort by far. With a willing roommate, another friend threw paint that covered his face. This was the only shot that worked, which showed how important the shutter priority and burst picture taking was.

 

I Whip My Hair: 5/2/16, 11:00am, BYU-I Tennis Courts, FL 26mm, f/8, 1/250 sec, Camera: Natural Lighting

WindSpencer - Motion 2
After some different shots, this picture was able to show the volume of hair with great contrast from the background. I was grateful for how this turned out.

 

BLURR


Axis of a Quarter: 4/29/16, 7:00pm, Brighton Apartments, FL 25mm, f/4, 1/15 sec, Camera: Natural Lighting

WindSpencer - QuarterBlurr
I had an idea to take a picture of a spinning quarter, I didn’t think it would work and I took about 20 separate pictures. After looking at all the pictures a couples days later, I found that one of them had actually captured the spin.

 

Light of Day: 4/29/16, 6:30pm, Brighton Apartments, FL 18mm, f/7.1, 5 sec, Camera: Natural Lighting

WindSpencer - Light Blurr
I really liked how this came out. With a focus on the stool and the light, it allows for great contrast and helps to illuminate the rest of the picture.

 

Strange Movement: 4/29/16, 6:15pm, Brighton Apartments, FL 18mm, f/10, 5 sec, Camera: Natural Lighting

WindSpencer - PersonalBlurr
During an experimental photo, I learned more about the power of letting more light into the shutter. This was one of my favorite accidental photos.

4 thoughts on “Light – Motion: Freeze & Blurr”

Leave a comment